Carrot, Courgette and Spinach Frittata

As a child I was allergic to eggs, and so as I’ve grown older I’ve tried to avoid them. Don’t get me wrong I eat my fair share of cake, biscuits and baked goods but I avoid eggs in a more concentrated form. Recently, whilst at a delicious brunch (at a cafe with a large gluten free menu yay!) I tried a fried egg and amazingly there was no reaction! Therefore, I thought I might try make some of the egg-ier dishes that I had previously avoided. A flick through my favourite low fodmap cookbook gave me the idea of a frittata.

Frittata in dish.png
A quick side note on the book, if you’re interested. It’s by the researchers of FODMAP, and has been my guide through it since I began the food plan. I find the beginning part of the book particularly useful, as it lists all of the high and low fodmap foods, something which can be surprisingly hard to find online with good authority. It also discusses the science behind it all as well as providing helpful recipes.

Back to the frittatas. I’m currently trying to empty 20160601_161550
out my fridge before I leave university, so the ingredients I used were those I had on hand. The recipe suggested that you use blue cheese (which is lactose free) and sweet potato. I’d absolutely love to try it with blue cheese but sadly did not have any, and plenty of cheddar so I used that instead. That was the same situation with the sweet potato. That being said, it was still delicious as I made it. I also had a courgette lying about and wanted to use my spiralizer again so decided to throw some courgette-y in the mix as well. You can eat it either hot or cold and makes a good alternative to sandwiches in lunches on the go.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

2 Carrots peeled and chopped

1 Potato chopped into 1cm cubes

1/2 Courgette spiralized

Tablespoon Butter Substitute Spread

4 Eggs

 

30g Spinach

50g Mature Cheddar chopped

75g Lactose Free Cream Cheese

50ml Lactose Free Milk

Tablespoon Ground Nutmeg and Rosemary

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade.

    20160601_151515
    3. Fry potato and carrot in a pan.
  2. Fry the butter in a large frying pan (one with a oven proof handle if possible).
  3. Once it begins to sizzle, add the chopped carrot and fry for five minutes before adding the potato. Coat in rosemary before frying for a further ten minutes.
  4. Whilst this is cooking, lightly beat together the spinach, eggs, cheddar, cream cheese, spiralized courgette, milk and nutmeg.
  5. Transfer the potato and carrot to an oven proof dish (if necessary) and pour the cheese-y mixture on top.
  6. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, until the top is solid.
  7. Remove from the oven and serve hot or cold.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

