Chocolate Bliss Balls

I have been a little awol recently, taking a break whilst in the midst of my finals. I can’t believe how quickly these three years have gone, and that now I’m officially a law graduate! After I finished my exams yesterday, I found myself with some time on my hands, I was now free and could do whatever I wanted so of course my first thought was baking! (despite these not actually involving any cooking time)

For a while now I’ve been seeing pictures of protein balls on various websites and instagram pages. These raw, healthy and tasty looking treats, however, are sadly almost always made of nuts. They often use some kind of nut butter like peanut or cashew. If you didn’t know already, I’m allergic to nuts, so these have never really been an option for me. Therefore, I decided to try and make my own. I adapted a recipe from my ‘for dummies’ gluten free student cook book, but added quite a few new ingredients.

doneAs it is nearing the end of term the ingredients in my cupboard were somewhat haphazard and random, but with a little improvisation these actually turned out rather deliciously. I do think they would taste great with some dried fruit in them. I would use dried cranberries to keep it low fodmap, but raisins would be equally tasty if you don’t have tummy issues like me!

Ingredients (makes 16)

75g Oats – cook lightly in the oven for 10 minutes to get rid of a too raw taste20160601_114314

10g Chia seeds

10g Desiccated Coconut

10g Cacao Powder

20g Plain Gluten Free Flour (I use Dove’s Farm)

Tablespoon of Butter substitute spread

50g Maple Syrup

Method

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with a wooden spoon.
  2. Using two teaspoons make small balls about an inch in diameter and place on tray covering in baking paper.tray
  3. Place the tray in the fridge for 10 minutes before tucking in. Store in the fridge.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

