Blueberry and Lemon Drizzle Loaf

I’ve had a rather stressful week to say the least, those looming law finals are here at last and with my whole grade resting on them its been non-stop revision. However, I had my first exam yesterday, and so decided I needed to do a bit of de-stress baking after it. Subconsciously, I think I have been working my way up to making proper gluten free bread (its so expensive to buy!) because I’ve been making a lot of loaf cakes recently. But for now its gluten free and low fodmap cakes.

IMG-20160518-WA0005

Recently I’ve been seeing a lot of yummy blueberry cake pictures, so thought I’d give it a try, but with a bit of a twist. The lemon zest in the cake is amazing, but its the lemon drizzle icing that really makes this. Its the perfect mix of sweet and a tiny bit tart, satisfying even those with the biggest sweet tooth (ie me!). Normally I’m a chocolate cake girl through and through, apart from banana bread of course! I even say that cake isn’t worth it without chocolate, but apart from eating far too much of this loaf cake, I ate my words too last night.

Also, its actually really easy to make, nothing fussy, and as great as that lemon drizzle icing looks, its really easy to do too. In the end I didn’t even use an electric mixer or whisk for this, as it completely wasn’t needed, so this is a good recipe for those without one. A easy, great looking, great tasting and low fodmap cake? Yes please!

As always I had a nose around some recipes that I found, but adapted them. In the end I decided to use some light brown sugar, it makes it more caramel like and really brings out the sweetness in the fruit. I also chose low fat coconut milk, instead of lactose-free milk. I really think, like the brown sugar, it adds to the overall flavour and so recommend you use it too!

Ingredients (For one loaf tin)

75g Unsalted Butter melted (or soya alternative if lactose intolerant)

100g Light Brown Sugar

125g White Caster Sugar

200g Plain Gluten Free Flour (leave a couple tablespoons to coat the blueberries)

Teaspoon Baking Powder

125ml Coconut Milk

Pinch of Salt

2 Eggs

Handful of Blueberries

A Lemon (you will be grating for the zest and using the juice too)

200g Icing Sugar

cooked
7. Remove from the oven after 55-60 minutes

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 degrees C and line a loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. Using a wooden spoon, mix the melted butter, caster and brown sugar and eggs together in a large mixing bowl.
  3. In another mixing bowl, combine the sieved flour, baking powder and salt, until it is well distributed.

    blueberries
    5. Toss the lemon zest and blueberries in flour
  4. Add a third of the flour mix to the butter, sugar and egg mixture and stir thoroughly. Then add a third of the coconut milk and mix. Continue until all the milk and flour is added in.
  5. Toss the blueberries in the flour bowl and add the extra 2 tablespoons to it. Grate in the lemon zest and mix until well covered. You want to use most or all of the lemon skin, but leave enough so you can hold them to squeeze later.
  6. Quickly fold in the blueberries and lemon zest, so they do not sink. This is what covering them in flour is also for.
  7. Bake in the oven for 55 minutes to an hour.
  8. Remove from the oven and on to a wire rack to cool completely.
  9. To make the glaze squeeze out the fresh lemon juice from one half of the lemon onto the sieved icing. Mix, then drizzle on top of the cake. As always if you desire a slightly thicker consistency simply add in a little more sugar.

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Blueberry and Lemon Drizzle Loaf

Leave a Reply

