Fruit Compote Pots

With one eye on the weather forecast and one eye on my fast approaching finals, we decided to go on a picnic (sun, lovely food and revision!). The temperature was 26 degrees C, almost unheard of in England and there was every chance that this was going to be our one hot day for year summer, so I decided to go all out with the food. Now there were only two of us but I still managed to make far too much food, but my favourite creation was definitely our puddings. I will be writing about the other food later on.

full picnic1.png
Our picnic, more recipes to follow!

I wanted to make something light and summery, but also quick, which wouldn’t interfere with my revision too much. Therefore, it was easy to decide to do something fruity and judging on what ingredients I had I just made the rest up as I went, but it was certainly lovely!

For the biscuits I used Nairns Gluten Free Chocolate Biscuit Breaks, because well they’re low calorie and the only gluten free biscuits I had in my cupboards. Do feel free to use whatever kind prefer like in yours though. Although, I do definitely recommend a chocolate flavour, goes great with the berries! Also when it comes to yoghurt my favourite lactose free one if definitely Turkish Yoghurt, but in England certainly, it has proven to be rather elusive. I can only find it from Ocado when it is in stock, so if you can’t find it either, just use soya instead. You may wish to mix it with a swirl of maple syrup to sweeten the soya yoghurt.

20160508_132819.jpg
The finished pots

Now a word to the wise before we start, if you’re taking these on a picnic don’t leave them to sit in the sun for hours before eating them like we did. Don’t get me wrong they were still tasty, but being cold, and little less melty they would have been perfect!

Ingredients (Makes 2 pots)

150g frozen strawberries and blueberries

50g chocolate gluten free biscuit

Teaspoon of butter or spread

400g Lactose free yoghurt (Turkish or soya)

Handful of berry fruits to top

Method

  1. Melt the butter in the microwave whilst crushing the biscuits. Then combine the two and push down in the pots to create a base. Refrigerate for at least 30 mins.
  2. Put the frozen berries in a blender and blend until they create a jam like consistency. If you’re having trouble, melt them slightly in the microwave or add a dash of water.
  3. Once you’ve created a compote split the mixture evenly between the pots and refrigerate again.
  4. After at least 30 mins (so that the compote has solidified a little) dollop the yoghurt on top.
  5. Finish with some fresh berry fruit, or use frozen if you do not have.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

