Burrito Bowl Salad

A few weeks ago I went to visit one of my good friends in Madrid. He was there on his year abroad, and hey free accommodation in Spain sounds great to me! Anyways, below his flat there was the most amazing burrito bar. It was called Tierra, if you’re ever in Madrid it is well worth a visit!! Not only was the food amazing but it was a paradise for those who can’t eat a lot. As you choose, from lots and lots of yummy options, what goes in your burrito it is very easy to tailor it for your specific requirements. Whilst I was there I had a couple of their epic burrito bowls (no wrap to keep it gluten free). I also opted for no black beans and went without the vegetable mix which had onion bits in it.

2016-04-30 10.44.31
One of Tierra’s Inspirational Burrito Bowls

So today, when I had a hankering for some of that sweet sweet (well actually it wasn’t sweet at all) burrito flavour I decided to try make my own burrito bowl salad. I only really used what ingredients I could get my hands on, and as it is revision time I didn’t have much time to make it. Therefore, I kept it vegetarian, but like at Tierra, you could easily add meat such as chicken.

Ingredients (Makes one very large bowl)

For the salsa:

1 large Tomato, diced

3 tablespoons of frozen Sweetcorn

Sprinkle of Oregano, Coriander and of Smoked Paprika

For the Salad:

1/2 a small Gem Lettuce, shredded

Handful of Spinach, shredded

Handful of grated Cheddar

1/2 a yellow Pepper

Handful of Corn Tortilla Chips

Guacamole

Sour cream

Method

  1. First prepare the salsa by combining the tomato and sweetcorn and seasoning in a small bowl. The frozen sweetcorn will need defrosting so put the whole bowl in the microwave, and cook for 2 minutes, or until the sweetcorn is fully defrosted. This produces a little excess liquid, cooks the tomato a little and allows it all to combine in a more salsa like manner.
  2. Then assemble. Put the spinach and lettuce leaves on the bottom and around the edge of the bowl. Then add in the pepper, and salsa and mix it together.Image 30-04-2016 at 10.56
  3. Next sprinkle on the cheese and put a little sour cream and guacamole on top.Image 30-04-2016 at 10.58.jpg
  4. Finally crush the tortilla chips in your hand and sprinkle a few on top
    of the salad bowl to make it a bit more filling.

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

