Quinoa and Rice Stuffed Peppers

Recently I’ve been trying to make a conscious effort to eat a bit less meat. A friend of mine suggested I watched ‘Cowspiracy’ and because I love a good documentary I thought why not! I won’t go into the details but basically as a result I’ve been experimenting with a few meat less recipes in the past couple of weeks. These stuffed peppers were definitely a result of that, and trying to eat something other than just rice!

For these I looked around the internet and in my trusty cook books for recipes and ended up, as always, adapting a few that I liked the sound of and had the ingredients for. These were absolutely delicious but I do recommend adding plenty of herbs and spices to add to the flavour, this is not the time to be shy! I also found that these were a pretty healthy and cheap meal, but of course that depends on how much cheese you add!

image
Filled peppers waiting to go into the oven

 

The flavours here are definitely reminiscent of Turkish and Lebanese cuisine (two of my favs!) with the rice, and sweetness of the herbs and spices. In terms of the rice and quinoa I used white rice and yellow quinoa, but can see it working equally well with alternatives, it was just what I had in my pantry at the time.

Just a note on the peppers, I wouldn’t recommend using green peppers here, as they definitely have a different and distinct taste to the sweetness of red and yellow ones.

Ingredients (Makes one portion)

3 Pepper Halves, with seeds removed (I went for one yellow because I only had one red pepper but preferred the taste of the red.)

image
Halve and hull your peppers

 

40g Dry Quinoa

20g Dry Rice

Knob of Butter

Stock Cube (I use the Sainsbury’s Basic Chicken one as it is onion and garlic free)

10g Goats Cheese of your choice (I used grerik) thinly sliced

Tablespoon Double Concentrate Tomato Pure

Oregano, Smoked Paprika, Garam Marsala, Ginger, Cinnamon and salt to taste

Method

  1. image
    Add the rice to the quinoa pan

    Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.

  2. Dissolve the stock cube in a pan of boiling water and add the quinoa. Allow to cook for five minutes before adding the rice, as quinoa generally takes longer to cook.
  3. Whilst the quinoa and rice is cooking place the pepper halves in the microwave and zap for 2 minutes to soften them slightly, but not allowing them to lose their shape.
  4. After ten minutes stir in a knob of butter to the rice and quinoa and allow to keep cooking for a further five minutes, or until the grains are tender and have absorbed the water.
  5. Take the pan off the heat and stir in the tomato puree and herbs and spices.
  6. Fill the peppers with the rice and quinoa mix and place a slice of goat’s cheese on top.
  7. Cook in the preheated oven for 7 minutes, allowing the peppers to soften further and for the cheese to melt into the filling.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

