Valentine’s Day Sugar Biscuits

IMG_1043 The urge to bake hit again on Sunday, and seeing as it was Valentine’s day I thought I’d add a a bit of a themed twist to my biscuits.

The recipe for these I originally got from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (which I love!) but I adapted it a bit to make it low fodmap. Also, I couldn’t resist adding a chocolate twist to some of my biscuits (read on to see what I did exactly). Being a poor student with
a poorly stocked kitchen, I didn’t actually have any cookie cutters which I normally would at home. However, I managed to utilise a heart shaped bowl I had as well as some measuring spoons of various sizes to get some circles. It just goes to show that you don’t need proper equipment all the time, improvisation is what its all about!IMG_1051

Now my friends who I shared these with absolutely loved them, I guess a ‘sugar cookie’ is rather an American idea. These were essentially a less rich shortbread. This means they’re great to decorate and write messages on. I definitely had a lot of fun with my chocolate icing pen, and even managed to make a ‘get well soon’ one for my flatmate (she was unwell, I wasn’t just writing it for the sake of it!). I would definitely recommend making something like these if you want to do some fun icing or decorating options, especially as the biscuits themselves were so easy to make.

Ingredients (Makes about 20 medium sized biscuits)

200g Salted Butter

280g Caster Sugar

1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Essence

1 Medium Egg

400g Plain Gluten Free Flour

1/2 Teaspoon Cream of Tartar

2 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder

To decorate:

50g Dark Chocolate

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C and lightly flour a clean work surface.

    Roll the dough out to approx 1 cm thick
    Roll the dough out to approx 1 cm thick
  2. Put the butter, sugar and vanilla in a food processor and combine until it becomes light and fluffy. You can also use an electric whisk, which is what I did.
  3. Add in the egg and mix, ensuring all ingredients are well incorporated.
  4. Sift in the cocoa powder, flour and cream tartar. Mix them in, but be careful to not over mix the dough.
  5. Prepare a baking tray with baking paper, ready to transfer the biscuits on to as soon as you have cut the dough into shapes.
  6. Roll the dough out onto the prepared work surface and flatten with a rolling pin until the dough is roughly 1cm thick. For a slightly more moist and cakey texture make it slightly thicker. Cut into desired shapes and place on tray.
  7. Bake in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes. The thicker the biscuit the longer the cook time necessary.
  8. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely.
  9. Melt the dark chocolate and spread on the biscuits to decorate or you can make icing as preferred.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

