Chinese New Year Noodles

Although I’ve had lots of work recently, there was no way I was going to miss out on making something delicious for CNY. I had planned to do this for my flatmate and I but sadly she was ill and stuck at home so I adapted my plans a little!image

I have recently been trying to eat less meat and so decided to use salmon for this, although a few months ago I probably would have attempted something to do with pork. However, the salmon turned out great, I tried to make a glaze of sorts for it rather than just grilling or baking it as I would normally if not doing it Chinese style. In terms of the vegetables used I just went for what I had and what was fodmap friendly. I definitely think that the peppers are one to keep in if you can, to get the nice contrast with sweet but most veg would work well. The green beans also help to give a nice crunch to the dish. If you’re not a fodmapper I could see onions and mushrooms working really well as well. One last thing is the sauces and oils I used. You’ll notice I got a bit carried away on the various types and by no means do you need all, but I do recommend keeping the sesame oil and fish sauce to give more of a Chinese taste.

Ingredients (makes one portion)

1 piece of salmon

1/4 Courgette sliced

1 Small Carrot thinly sliced

1/2 A Pepper sliced

A Handful of Green Beans

1 Nest of Rice Noodles

Oils – sesame and garlic a splash of both

Sauces – Fish sauce, Oyster sauce and Soya sauce a splash of all

Teaspoon of Minced Ginger

Chicken Stock Cube (I use Sainsburys basics as it has no onion)

Sprinkling of cinnamon and salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Break the stop cube in half, and put in a pan of boiling water. Add the noodles and cook for a 4 mins until they are softened slightly and have begun to come apart. Drain and put to one side.
  2. Pour the sesame and garlic oil in a very hot wok and add the piece of salmon. Cover the salmon in the oil and Pour the fish sauce over it. Fry for 3 minutes on each side.
  3. Add the chopped vegetables to the wok. Sprinkled the other half of the stock cube on the vegetables and add the spices. Fry for a few more minutes.
  4. Add the the cooked noodles and the oyster and soya sauce and fry for a further minute, to allow the. Noodles to absorb/ be coated in the sauces. Continue to fry for a further 3 minutes if you prefer your noodles crispy.
  5. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

