Green Smoothie

So the other day I made a delicious and really filling green smoothie so thought I just had to share. Now don’t get me wrong I’m usually suitably wary of anything too green and ‘healthy’ – not always convinced they taste as good as people make out, but boy was I wrong! This is definitely one of the nicest smoothies I have made and is really good for you too. I also found it was really filling much to my surprise – again I’ve always been wary of people suggesting a drink can be a meal but this really did keep me going.

After seeing the benefits of spinach smoothies extolled in a number of places I decided to give it a try and in case you couldn’t tell already I can’t recommend it enough. This is also a good way to use up any spinach that is slightly past its best, which has begun to look a little wilted and sad – ditto with bananas. 

Green smoothie ingredients.jpgIngredients (Makes 2 large glasses)

70g Fresh Spinach

120g Strawberries hulled and quartered

200ml Lacto-Free milk

1 Large Banana

1 Tablespoon of Golden Syrup – I have a sneaking feeling that in the summer, when the strawberries are more flavourful and sweet this won’t be necessary

Method

  1. As with most smoothies simply put it all in an immersion/hand blender or food processor and whizz until everything has broken down.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

