Cloud Bread

So I’ve seen and heard cloud bread mentioned quite a bit recently but it wasn’t until I realised it was fodmap friendly that I thought I just had to give it a go. Publicised for its health benefits cloud bread is gluten and carb free, a win-win no?! However, it does have cream cheese in which of course isn’t the healthiest of foods so don’t be fooled calorie counters, this isn’t the solution to all your problems! That being said, it does look pretty cool – plus low fodmap and bread, now that’s something! I have to admit that it wasn’t my favourite food, and I personally found it a little too eggy, but for those who enjoy that taste do give it a try.

image
Mine ended up rather runny and formed one piece rather than clouds

This is (supposedly) a very easy thing to make, even though I did mess up a bit on my first attempt! With just three essential ingredients it’s also very cheap to make (yay for the student budget) much cheaper in fact that buying gluten free bread alternatives. I’ve done this recipe on quite a small scale because I’m feeding just me and was trying it out but I would recommend multiplying the quantities by there for decent sized batch.

 

 

Ingredients 

1 Egg (separated)

1 Tablespoon of lacto-free Cream Cheese (at room temperature)

1/4 Teaspoon of Cream of Tartar

The following ingredients aren’t necessary but you may wish to add for taste:

Pinch of Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Liquid Glucose – many recipes recommend honey or a sugar substitute but seeing as neither are low fodmap I opted for this. I feel normal sugar would also work fine

image
You want two mixtures, one of yolk and one of whites

Method

  1. Separate the egg white and yolk, being careful not to get any yolk in the bowl of white.
  2. Add the cream cheese to the yolk and whisk until combined. If your cream cheese was straight from the fridge you may need to whisk for longer to ensure that no lumps remain. Add in the sugar and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together the egg white and cream of tartar until it begins to form stiff white peaks.
  4. Combine the two mixtures without over beating, just a gentle swirl with a spoon should be sufficient.
  5. Bake in the oven for 2o minutes, it should bubble up and be golden.
  6. Leave over night to settle.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

