Chinese Style Stir Fry

With Chinese New Year coming up I thought now was as good a time as any to brush up on my Chinese cooking skills. Being half Chinese a lot of my friends expect me to be naturally gifted in this area, sadly that is far from true! Although my mum has taught me some of her yummy recipes, these were not from my grandmother sadly, but ones she picked up along the way (my grandmother never learnt to cook). Therefore, I sadly cannot claim to have generations of wisdom behind my Chinese meals. Oh well, more practising of yummy food for me!

rice drying.jpgWith this in mind and lots of veggies in my fridge I thought I would work on my stir fry skills. If I wanted to be able to cook up a storm for my flatmate on Monday I would need to practise my flavouring after all. With a bit of research I learnt that apparently the secret to a great stir fry is day old rice. Now being an unorganised student (yes I am going to use that cliched excuse) I hadn’t thought that far in advance so I decided to try drying out my own rice. To do this cook the rice in about 3/4 the amount of water you would normally use. Once cooked spread out on a baking tray covered in cling film and put in the fridge for at least an hour. This should dry it out and simulate the texture of day old rice.

 

 

Ingredients (makes 2 portions)

1 large Carrot Sliced into small sticks

Half a Courgette chopped

20 or so Green Beans chopped

Handful of Peas

1 Red and 1 Yellow Pepper chopped

Chicken Stock Cube (I use Sainsburys basics because it’s onion and garlic free)

2 Large Eggs

120g of Rice

The content in terms of vegetable and meat aren’t particularly important for stir frys, it is more about the method and seasoning. I had a play around with:

Soya Sauce

Sushi Vinegar

Garlic Oil

Flat leaf Parsley

Corriander

Ground Ginger

I used these because after reading lots of recipes and tips these were the ingredients I had in my cupboard and I think it turned out rather tasty! One flavour I would like to play around with is sesame oil, and so shall definitely be trying that out when I pick some up. Another tip I came across was ensuring your wok is as hot as possible, so before I started cooking I left it on the hob on high for several minutes with some garlic oil in it.

big wok top.jpgMethod

  1. With the oil already hot in the wok add the carrots and beans leaving to fry for a couple of minutes.
  2. Then add in the peppers waiting a minute or two before throwing in the courgettes too.
  3. Here add the ginger, parsley, corriander and crumble the stock cube over the vegetables. Again leave to fry for a  minute or two, stirring to ensure an even spread of the seasoning.
  4. Add in the rice and peas, mixing all the while.
  5. After a couple of minutes make a well in the middle of the wok and crack one of the eggs in. Let the bottom of it cook for 30 seconds and then vigorously mix it into the over ingredients. Repeat with the second egg.
  6. Finally add splashes of sushi vinegar and gluten free soya sauce to the sides of the wok, allowing it to run into the mixture without making it soggy. Stir vigorously.

If you prefer a more crispy mixture feel free to fry for a further few minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

