Red Pepper and Goat’s Cheese Salad

I never thought I’d say this about a salad but this was actually really delicious. Recently I’ve been trying to eat less meat, but I’ve never been a massive fan of salads – that was until I discovered goat’s cheese! It’s definitely not the cheapest type of cheese you can get (I paid £1.20 for 70g) but you only need a bit for this salad and it really makes all the difference.Birds eye.png

When I first started fodmap I was very sad to lose my halloumi (to say I was addicted to the stuff is an understatement) but I think I’ve finally found a replacement in goat’s cheese. It has a lovely salty and creamy taste that I found works really well with the sweetness of grilled red peppers. This is a great salad to eat as a side, but if you want to be extra healthy and have it as a main just increase the quantities of all the veggies. 

Ingredients (makes one side portion)

A Handful of Spinach

Half a Red Pepper sliced in strips

10 Green beans 

Half a courgette thinly sliced

20g Goat’s Cheese (I used grerik)

Method

  1. Place the green beans and courgette slices in a pan of boiling water. Allow to cook for 5 mins, until the courgette is softened. Remove the courgette slices and place on a baking tray covered in foil or baking paper. Leave the beans to continue cooking while you do the rest of the salad.20160201_155517.jpg
  2. Add the strips of pepper to the tray, sprinkle with a little salt and oil and grill for 8 to 10 minutes. The pepper should brown slightly at the edges. 
  3. By this point the beans should be softened, drain and allow to fry on a low heat whilst you move on to the next step.
  4. Remove the peppers from the oven, leaving the courgettes on the tray. Put the slices of cheese in the place of the pepper. Continue to grill for a few minutes, turning the cheese half way through. Don’t worry if it starts to bubble up, just make sure you have placed it on some baking paper. 
  5. Remove the courgette and cheese from the oven and take the beans off the hob. Assemble the pepper, beans, courgette slices and cheese on top of a bed of spinach. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

